Kingsbury County is located on the eastern side of South Dakota.  The county was created in 1873 and organized in 1880.  It is named for two brothers, George W. and T.A. Kingsbury of the prominent Kingsbury family.  It's county seat is De Smet.  The couthouse was built in 1898 and is located at 202 2nd St. SE in De Smet.  The residents of Kingsbury County are proud to say that the Kingsbury County Courthouse is listed on the Federal Historical Register.

Welcome to Kingsbury County, South Dakota!

Kingsbury County Courthouse

202 2nd St. SE

De Smet, SD 57231


Monday- Friday 8:00 AM- 5:00 PM

(Most Offices)

Treasurer's Business Hours are 8:00 Am- 4:30 Pm

See Directory for individual office hours.

Closed Weekends & all Government Holidays


August 7, 2018- Regular Meeting- 8:30 AM- Courtroom

August 21, 2018- Regular Meeting-  8:30AM- Courtroom

September 5, 2018- Regular Meeting- 8:30 AM- Courtroom




Sheriff          Vehicle Licensing          Birth/Death Certificates          Tax Information

County Extension (4H)          ICAP          Court          Veteran's Services


Due to construction the ICAP office has temporarily moved to our Highway building at 43189 US Hwy 14 W, De Smet, SD

Sue can be reached at the same phone number (605) 854-3701 or by email at

Due to construction the

Extension Office has moved to the Kingsbury County 4-H Building. 

Their phone number remains the same (605) 854-3851

Please be patient with us as we go through this update!