Vehicle Registration and Licensing:
Registration is on a staggered licensing system based on the first letter of the owner's last name. Vehicle owners must provide either the South Dakota license number or Social Security number of all registered owners on the title before the license may be renewed.
South Dakota residents have 30 days from the date purchase of a news or used motor vehicle to transfer title into their name. A penalty of $1 per week of up to 26 weeks will be assessed for late transfers. The penalty for a transfer after 26 weeks is $50. In addition, interest and penalties will apply to the 3% motor vehicle excise tax. In lieu of sales and use taxes, a 3% excise tax is imposed on most motor vehicle transactions unless exempt. N The excise tax is based on the purchase price of the motor vehicle listed on the bill of sale, purchase order, or sales contract. In some instances, older vehicles may be subjected to excise tax, but, currently, all motor vehicles 11 years old or newer are taxed, regardless of purchase price. Credit is given for trade-ins.